Quatuor Arcanto

Bach, Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Berg


Carte blanche to Jean-Guihen Queyras



Antje Weithaas
Daniel Sepec
Tabea Zimmermann
Jean-Guihen Queyras

Johann-Sebastian Bach Three fugues from The Art of Fugue (BWV 1080)
Félix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Quartet in A minor (op .13)
Alban Berg Lyric Suite

Here the Arcanto Quartet offers an unusual programme full of mystery, intensity and subtlety. The concert opens with Bach’s most monumental work, considered by some to be a testamentary work, by others an instruction manual or an exercise in theory. This is followed by the Mendelssohn quartet, which attempts to preserve the legacy of Beethoven after the devastating announcement of his death. Dedicated to Zemlinsky, Berg's Lyric Suite betrays the emotions of the composer, who was secretly in love with the wife of a friend. This appetising combination of enigmatic works cannot fail to arouse the audience’s curiosity.


Programme (pdf in French)

Quatuor Arcanto

Quatuor Arcanto© Marco Borggreve


Friday15July 2016
10:00 PM
Book online

Prices: 25€, 15€
With the Pass : 20€
Youth price: 8€  
Child Discovery Tickets

1 hour 35 minutes with one interval


Broadcasted on 24 August at 8pm on France Musique