Huile sur toile du milieu du XIXe siècle
Tous droits réservés
  • /
  • Opera /
Igor Stravinsky (1882 - 1971)

The Rake's Progress

Opera in three acts
Libretto by Wystan Hugh Auden and Chester Simon Kallman adapted from William Hogarth
First performed on 11 September 1951 at La Fenice, Venice

New production of the Festival d'Aix-en-Provence
In coproduction with the Dutch National Opera, Amsterdam

Prices: 270€, 180€, 150€, 120€, 55€, 30€
Youth Price: 9€
Children’s discovery offer for all performances, except the opening night
Performance available with season ticket packages and Premium or Prestige offers

2h50 with an interval
Sung in English with French and English surtitles
Daniel Harding
Stage Director
Simon McBurney
Gerard McBurney
Stage Designer
Michael Levine
Costume designer
Christina Cunningham
Lighting Designer
Paul Anderson
Will Duke
Associate Stage Director
Leah Hausman
Ann Trulove
Julia Bullock
Tom Rakewell
Paul Appleby
Nick Shadow
Kyle Ketelsen
David Pittsinger
Mother Goose
Hilary Summers
Baba la Turque
Andrew Watts
Alan Oke
Keeper of the Madhouse / Nick Shadow 2
Evan Hughes*
English Voices
Orchestre de Paris
On 5, 7, 11, 14 and 18 July at 10:00pm

Come, wishes, be horses ;
this beggar shall ride!

After settling in the United States after World War II, Igor Stravinsky discovered the series of paintings known as A Rake’s Progress by the English painter, William Hogarth. The paintings retrace the dissolute life of a libertine in eighteenth century England in powerfully realistic, satirical detail. Stravinsky decided to turn it into an opera. The libretto by Auden and Kallman embellishes the story narrated by Hogarth by adding the Mephistophelian figure of Nick Shadow, the damned soul of the reprobate Tom Rakewell. Following a journey that takes him from the brothel to the auction house, the libertine finally ends up in the madhouse. Stravinsky adopts the codes of eighteenth-century opera to score this enlightenment-era narrative. But the musical language, while evoking the memory of Mozart, also tips a nod to Rossini, Verdi and Handel, whose aesthetic he “unfolds” in a musical cubism that has lost none of its acerbity. The major contemporary playwright Simon McBurney repaints this “rake's progress”, while Daniel Harding strips back the multiple layers that Stravinsky has stacked up in his score, somewhere between amused distance and genuine emotion.

*former artists of the Académie

With the support of

IFILAF (International Friends of the International Lyric Art Festival)

Procédés Chénel International, fournisseur papier des décors
Howard & Sarah D. Solomon Foundation
Mr and Mrs Laurence and Oonagh Blackall
Karolina Blaberg Stiftung
Fondation Meyer pour le développement culturel et artistique

Mr and Mrs Mark and Clare Armour, Mr and Mrs Christopher and Jane Carter, Mr and Mrs Peter and Fiona Espenhahn, Mr and Mrs Raphael and Yolande Kanza, Mr and Mrs Christian and Béatrice Schlumberger

Institut Français de Londres